CONTACT US FOR A
FREE CASE REVIEW
about Pennsylvania's traffic ticket point system
pa's traffic citation point system
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County, PA Traffic Ticket Lawyers
If you've been cited with a traffic ticket in Pennsylvania, Lampman Law can help. Our office is on Public Square in Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania and we fight Vehicle Code violations throughout northeastern and central Pennsylvania. We offer a free consultation by phone or in our officer.
Call us at 570-371-3737 to discuss your case.
What is PennDOT's Point System?
Pennsylvania has a drivers license points system that is managed by PennDOT (Pennsylvania Department of Transportation). PennDOT keeps a record of all drivers in PA. If a driver is convicted of a traffic citation points are added to the driver’s record; however, not all violations carry a point or punishment value.
How Many Points will I Get for This Ticket?
The number of points depends on the offense the driver was convicted of violating. Further, the PA driver’s license point system is a weighted system. In other words, the more serious the traffic offense is the higher the point value is assigned to it. Regardless of the number a points a driver has on their Pennsylvania license, it is important to understand that some serious traffic offenses in Pennsylvania carry automatic driver’s license suspensions.
What Happens If I Get Six (6) PennDOT Points?
When six (6) points are accumulated a driver is be required by PennDOT to pass a written test. The individual must pass the test within thirty (30) days of receiving notice of the exam requirement or their license will be suspended until the exam is passed. If the test is passed within the thirty (30) days two (2) points are removed.
What If I Get Six (6) Points Again?
If a Pennsylvania driver’s record is reduced below six (6) points and then they again reach six (6) points, the driver must attend a PennDOT Departmental Hearing. If the driver fails to attend the hearing their license will be suspended for sixty (60) days. A hearing examiner will review the driver’s record and recommend one or more of the following:
15 day driver’s license suspension
Require a Special on Road Driver’s Test
No additional punishment (No opportunity to have two (2) points removed)
If punishment is recommended, two (2) points will be removed if the driver passes the road test within 30 days or once the 15 day suspension is served.
What If I Get Six (6) Points a Third or Subsequent Time?
If a Pennsylvania driver’s record is reduced below six (6) points and they accrue six (6) or more points for a third or more time, the diver must attend another PennDOT hearing. The hearing examiner will decide if a thirty (30) day suspension is appropriate. If the driver fails to attend the hearing their license will be suspended until they attend the hearing.
What is Pennsylvania’s Eleven (11) Point Rule?
When a diver collects 11 or more points their PA driver’s license is automatically suspended. The suspension term is determined by the number of prior suspensions.
1st Suspension – 5 days per point
2nd Suspension – 10 days per point
3rd Suspension – 15 days per point
Subsequent Suspensions – 1 year
What is Pennsylvania's Excessive Speeding Penalty - 31 MPH Over the Speed Limit
A driver must attend a PennDOT Departmental Hearing if they are convicted of exceeding the speed limit by 31 miles per hour or more. A hearing examiner will review the driver’s record and recommend one or more of the following:
15 day driver’s license suspension
Require a Special on Road Driver’s Test (No opportunity to have points removed)
If the driver serves the 15 day suspension they will receive a five (5) point reduction. If the driver fails to attend the hearing their license will be suspended for sixty (60) days.
Does Pennsylvania Have Special Point Rules for Drivers Under 18?
Minor drivers receive additional punishments under the Pennsylvania point system. When a driver under 18 years old accumulates six (6) points or is convicted of exceeding the speed limit by 26 miles per hour PennDOT automatically suspends the minor’s driver’s license for 90 days.
Additional occurrences result in a 120 day suspension. These penalties are added to the penalties that apply to adult drivers.
Does Pennsylvania Have Safe Driving Point Reductions?
For every twelve (12) consecutive months (from the date of the last citation) a person drives without receiving a traffic ticket that carries points, suspension, or revocation, the driver will be credited with a three (3) point reduction. Additionally, further points are treated as the first accumulation of points.